"Singles Box" [cd edition]
29 June 2009


Hand in Glove (single version)
Handsome Devil (live Manchester Hacienda 4/2/83)

This Charming Man (Manchester)
This Charming Man (London)
Accept Yourself
Wonderful Woman

This Charming Man (New York vocal mix)
This Charming Man (New York instrumental mix)

What Difference Does It Make? (single edit)
Back To The Old House
These Things Take Time

Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now
Girl Afraid
Suffer Little Children

William, It Was Really Nothing
How Soon Is Now?
Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want

How Soon Is Now?
Well I Wonder
Oscillate Wildly

Shakespeare's Sister
What She Said
Stretch Out And Wait (alternate version)

Barbarism Begins At Home
Shakespeare's Sister
Stretch Out And Wait (alternate version)

That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore
Nowhere Fast (live Oxford 18/3/85)
Stretch Out And Wait (live Oxford 18/3/85)
Shakespeare's Sister (live Oxford 18/3/85)
Meat Is Murder (live Oxford 18/3/85)

The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (album version)
Rubber Ring

Bigmouth Strikes Again
Money Changes Everything

UK 12xcd5 box set [Warner UK/Rhino UK 2564-68921-7]

Additional information:
This is the cd counterpart to a box set of 7" singles released the year before. It is limited to 10 000 copies.

This box set compiles repressings on compact disc of the Smiths' first ten singles as originally released on 12" in the UK: "Hand In Glove", "This Charming Man", "What Difference Does It Make?", "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now", "William, It Was Really Nothing", "How Soon Is Now?", "Shakespeare's Sister", "That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore", "The Boy With The Thorn In His Side" and "Bigmouth Strikes Again". It also includes a cd version of the "Barbarism Begins At Home" 12" which at the time was only released in Germany. Two different versions of the "This Charming Man" single are included, one featuring the songs that originally appeared on the 7" and the 12", and the other featuring the two versions of the song originally released on the deleted New York remix 12". Finally the set also includes a poster showing the artwork of all the singles in the box.

Unfortunately Rhino mistakenly used the album version of "The Boy With The Thorn In His Side" instead of the single one, and the alternate version of "Stretch Out And Wait" instead of the single one. Also, "Rubber Ring" and "Asleep" are separate tracks, the first doesn't segue into the second the way they did on the original 12" single and cd-single.

A 4-track cd-single (R2009DJ) featuring "This Charming Man" (New-York mix), "Bigmouth Strikes Again", "Jeane" and "Rubber Ring" was given away with the first 200 orders for this box set (view left).


Artwork information:
The front cover image was personally chosen by Morrissey. It features Joel Fabiani from the 1969 TV series "Department S". The general artwork of each single in the box is identical to the original pressings, with some minor changes made in the credits to account of the difference in labels. Click on titles above for more information about individual releases.


Additional release date information:
UK: 29 June 2009


UK: The 4-track cd-single mentioned above is usually referred to as being a promo cd. However it has yet to be proven that it has actually served promotional purposes, at least in the traditional sense.